Is Your Work Your Calling? Inspired by Dan Miller

For the past century America has been transitioning from the agrarian way of life to the industrial revolution and now into the information age. Dan Miller, founder of 48 Days To The Work You Love movement has posed the question pertaining to your work vs your calling.

Have you considered what your calling is?

Jim Stovall, author of The Ultimate Gift (now available on dvd) is blind, but has more vision than most sighted people you know. The film reveals the gifts of work, friendship, dreams, money, family, learning, problems, laughter, giving, gratitude, a day, and love.

Both these gentlemen have a strong presence on the web. Dan Miller can be found at http://www.48days.com and Jim’s work at http://www.onceuponafamily.com

Following WWII Great Britain was in a state of distress as they had poured all their resources into defending their island. Without an exportable product or service, the British contained their economy by becoming a literary culture. Writers were inspired, motivated, and propelled into action. Agatha Christie comes to mind here.

Robt and Janice (or is it Janet?) McNair have extablished a foundation at one of our local high schools. Mentors are assigned to students who may miss opportunities without an objective adult to moniter their scholastic progression. Scholarships the student may not be aware of are awarded in order to assure the scholar will not miss opportunities to advance their academic career.

Not every student will get their full education in their early years, however. Many late bloomers will acquire their education in the school of hard knocks.

This is a painful way to learn, however, and many individuals resign themselves to live out their lives in quiet desparation rather than endure the discomfort. That’s where perseverence comes in, and I’ll write about that another time…

Vernon Hoyle is a gentleman whom I am privileged to know, and I was delighted when he encouraged me to consider becoming a mentor through McNair’s Educational Foundation.

“If I can spare even one person from having to live their adult life the way I’ve lived mine” I said. “it will have been worth it…”

“Smart people learn from their own mistakes, genius learns from other peoples’ mistakes.” Author unknown.

My goal is to turn out as many genius’ as possible!

The kids could tell that I was genuinely interested in them, and more than one student told me “You’re really good! You should do this!” Naturally I responded “I am doing this, because I genuinely care about YOU!”

As a volunteer, however, I was not being compensated monetarily, and I desparately needed an income. When a friend suggested I return to college and pursue a degree (to make me credible), I was delighted to find that I qualified for a Pell Grant, that I could get into a work/study program, and I could study, learn and grow!

The challenge proved to be greater than my ability, sadly, as the work/study portion never materialized. My academic career (at least in formal academia) has been put on hold.

My education has not come to a halt, however, for I am an avid reader and seeker of truth! I’ve held a position for the past two years in food service while pursuing a home based business.

Freedom is my quest, my privilege, and my responsibilty (yes, in that order!).

Now I have a campaign platform as well as a burning desire to be part of the solution for our country. No sulking here!

About terrylchandler

Internet entrepreneur, life coach, thinker, honest, inspiration addict, non liar, kind person. IE, I THINK (True, Honest, Inspiring, Necessary and Kind are the guidelines I use prior to speaking). I also have set a goal to listen twice as much as I speak. These may be cliches', but my life is rich as a result.
This entry was posted in Faith and Promises and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

